St. Louis, San Diego, Cincinnati among host cities for Concacaf Gold Cup
Home » Matches » St. Louis, San Diego, Cincinnati among host cities for Concacaf Gold Cup
St. Louis, San Diego, Cincinnati among host cities for Concacaf Gold Cup

The 2023 Concacaf Gold Cup is only three months away and the 15 venues that will host matches during this summer’s tournament have officially been announced.

San Diego, St. Louis, and Cincinnati were among the 14 cities announced by Concacaf on Monday, who will all play host to group stage and knockout stage matches. Los Angeles’ SoFi Stadium was already announced as the host of the tournament final.

“The Concacaf Gold Cup is our flagship competition and showcases the very best of men’s national team football in the region,” Concacaf President and FIFA Vice President Victor Montagliani said. “With each passing edition, this competition has reached new heights on and off the pitch and I am certain the 2023 tournament will deliver outstanding football, and capture the imagination of fans across our confederation and beyond.
“The host cities and venues we have selected all have strong track records of hosting elite football, and world class events,” Montagliani added. “I want to thank each and every one of them for their commitment to Concacaf, to our Gold Cup, and to our sport. This is a tremendous time for football in the region with Nations Leagues, men’s and women’s Gold Cups, and other exciting national team and club competitions taking place over the next three years as we head towards the FIFA World Cup 2026.”

There will be four first-time hosts during the 2023 Concacaf Gold Cup with St. Louis’ CITYPARK, San Diego’s Snapdragon Stadium, Cincinnati’s TQL Stadium, and Los Angeles’ SoFi Stadium all being chosen. In addition, Toronto’s BMO Field will play host to Gold Cup matches for the first time since 2015

Chicago’s Soldier Field and Houston’s NRG Stadium will host matches for the seventh time in the tournament’s history.

The 2023 Gold Cup draw is slated to take place on Friday, April 14 at SoFi Stadium. The U.S. men’s national team heads into the group stage as defending champions of the Gold Cup after defeating Mexico 1-0 in the 2021 edition.

Here’s a closer look at the venues chosen for hosting duties and groups/tournament schedule:

  • AT&T Stadium, Arlington, TX
  • Bank of America Stadium, Charlotte, NC
  • Soldier Field, Chicago, IL
  • TQL Stadium, Cincinnati, OH (first-time host) 
  • DRV PNK Stadium, Fort Lauderdale, FL
  • State Farm Stadium, Glendale, AZ
  • Red Bull Arena, Harrison, NJ
  • NRG Stadium, Houston, TX
  • Shell Energy Stadium, Houston, TX
  • SoFi Stadium, Inglewood, CA (first-time host)
  • Allegiant Stadium, Las Vegas, NV
  • Snapdragon Stadium, San Diego, CA (first-time host)
  • Levi’s Stadium, Santa Clara, CA
  • CITYPARK Stadium, St. Louis, MO (first-time host)
  • BMO Field, Toronto, Canada

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *